News  >  News Article 

Trustees' Statement on Faculty Motion Regarding President Trump's Honorary Degree

March 2, 2018

The Board of Trustees of Lehigh University has received a motion from members of the Lehigh faculty requesting that the Board revoke the honorary degree awarded to President Donald Trump in 1988. During the meeting of the Board today, having previously considered a petition with respect to the honorary degree, the Board reaffirmed the prior decision to take no action (see statement issued October 27 below).

​T​he members of the Board are committed to doing what is in the best interests of the University as a whole, including most especially demonstrating openness to and respect for the broad views and perspectives of our many University constituencies. We reaffirm our core mission of educating students from around the globe to be future leaders of society.


Trustees announce decision to take “no action” on President Trump honorary degree petition

October 27, 2017

Lehigh University encourages respectful dialogue, discussion and learning about important societal issues.

The Board of Trustees remains committed to the university’s values and to its “­Principles of Our Equitable Community,” which recognize each person’s right to think and speak as dictated by personal belief and to respectfully disagree with or counter another’s point of view.

These values provide meaningful guidance when deliberating or making decisions that impact the Lehigh community. In considering a petition regarding the honorary degree given 29 years ago to President Donald Trump, the Board of Trustees engaged in lengthy, full and robust discussions. The Board has concluded that no action will be taken.

Share this story: 

Related News Articles

Letter from President John D. Simon about GO: The Campaign for Lehigh.

Georgette Chapman Phillips, dean of the College of Business and Economics, discusses how the college needs to not just understand the past, but 'skate' toward future business needs.

A letter from President John D. Simon.